Skip to main content

President Bush Awarded Bipartisan Patriot Award

Washington, DC – Today, the Bipartisan Policy Center presented its prestigious Patriot Award to President George W. Bush. This honor recognizes outstanding public servants who have demonstrated political courage and exceptional leadership throughout their careers. The award honors Americans who, in placing the interests of the nation above all else, bring credibility and honor to government.   

“This is BPC’s highest honor to pay tribute to leaders who put country ahead of party,” said BPC Board Chair Henry Cisneros. “The entire Bush family has lived a life of public service, and we could not be prouder to acknowledge his patriotism. President Bush’s leadership continues to bridge America’s political divide, at a time when there is far too much polarization. President Bush is an inspiration to BPC and the nation. I am pleased to join Sen. Snowe in presenting this award to a most worthy recipient.”  

“The only way to move our vastly diverse country forward is to bring together lawmakers across the aisle to find common ground,” said BPC Board Member and former Sen. Olympia Snowe. “From the very beginning, Governor and then later President Bush stated he sought to be a uniter not divider. He lived up to that promise with bipartisan achievements from reforming education to the landmark, lifesaving PEPFAR; first-ever prescription drug benefits and refundable child tax credits; and most profoundly as he gave voice to a grieving nation in the aftermath of 9-11. The way President Bush reached out and governed becomes all the more remarkable through the lens of today’s tumultuous political environment and is emblematic of the Bipartisan Policy Center’s critical mission. This is the legacy we herald with our 2023 Patriot Award.”  

Fittingly, this year marks the 20th anniversary of one of President Bush’s greatest contributions, the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief which has received consistent bipartisan support across four presidential administrations and 10 sessions of Congress—increasingly a rarity, and a testament to the program’s success and President Bush’s leadership in and out of office.   

BPC created the Patriot Award in 2016. Past awardees include President Joe Biden (after he left office as vice president), 9-11 Commission Co-Chairs former Gov. Thomas Kean (R-NJ) and former Rep. Lee Hamilton (D-IN), and Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-TN) and Patty Murray (D-WA).   

Read Next