Skip to main content

PBS’s Judy Woodruff, Six Members of Congress Recognized for Their Service and Leadership

Washington, DC – Today, the Bipartisan Policy Center is recognizing six outstanding members of Congress, three from each party, for their efforts to foster bipartisanship and advance legislation. At a time when principled compromise is more urgent than ever before, BPC is also awarding its first-ever Freedom Award in recognition of outstanding journalism to PBS’s Judy Woodruff 

This year’s Legislative Action Awards recipients are:  

  • Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) 
  • Sen. Kevin Cramer (R-ND) 
  • Rep. Young Kim (R-CA) 
  • Rep. Joe Neguse (D-CO) 
  • Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA) 
  • Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-MI) 

“This year’s Legislative Action Award recipients demonstrate the power of constructive partisanship,” said BPC President Jason Grumet. “Through hard work and principled collaboration, these legislators are moving our nation forward. We are grateful for their example and their leadership on behalf of all Americans.” 

“BPC is as committed to recognizing leaders focused on getting things done for the American people,” said event emcee and BPC Chief Operating Officer Kelly Veney Darnell. “At a time when Americans are looking to Congress to address pressing issues of the day from inflation to health care, these members are searching for common ground and progress.” 

BPC created the Freedom Award to recognize outstanding journalism at a time when the press is under more scrutiny than ever. The First Amendment is a cornerstone to America’s democracy and this award reflects excellence to those who uphold its important values. Judy Woodruff is our inaugural honoree in recognition of her more than five decades telling America’s story.  

“I’m humbled by this award from the Bipartisan Policy Center, as I accept it on behalf of the entire PBS NewsHour team of journalists,” said Woodruff. ”Going back to the earliest days, when the NewsHour was just a gleam in the eyes of Robin MacNeil and Jim Lehrer, the program has stood for straightforward, solid reporting, intended to give people information so they can make up their own minds. That remains our mission today and this award is a wonderful affirmation of that.”  

“Judy Woodruff epitomizes excellence in journalism, proving to be a beacon in her field and a shining example of our First Amendment,” said Grumet. 

Reactions from 2022 Legislative Action Award Recipients 

“I’m honored to receive the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Legislative Action Award. I’ve always put Nevadans first and worked across the aisle on the pressing issues affecting Nevada and our country,” said Sen. Masto. “From upgrading our infrastructure to supporting our police, I’ll continue working to bring everyone to the table to deliver results for Nevada and the United States.”  

“I’m honored to accept the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Legislative Action Award this year. The greatness of America lies in our self-governance and the diversity each state brings to the table. My goal is to always bring North Dakota solutions to Washington and find the best ideas my colleagues have to offer. From exploring trade policies to prioritize American production to historic investments in cleaning up orphaned and abandoned wells, I have appreciated working across the aisle to get real solutions for North Dakota and the nation,” said Sen. Cramer. 

“I came to Congress to bring common sense to Washington, break through the gridlock, and get things done. I’m proud of my record of sticking to my conservative principles while being able to find common ground with colleagues across the aisle,” said Rep.Kim.“I am humbled to receive the Legislative Action Award and thank the Bipartisan Policy Center for their recognition. I will continue working around the clock to deliver results for communities in Southern California and across the nation.”  

“I’m honored and humbled to receive this recognition from the Bipartisan Policy Center,” saidRep. Neguse. “I’ve long believed we must work to turn down the temperature in our politics and work across party lines to deliver tangible results for the American people. Our office has sought to do that through our work on the Bipartisan Wildfire Caucus, in order to advance common-sense, science-led solutions to invest in our forests and equip our firefighters, and through our work to expand opportunities for small businesses, safeguard competition in the marketplace, and support our nation’s veterans. I believe our willingness to work with others in good faith has helped secure victories for our communities, and I’m committed to continuing to do so.” 

“I am incredibly honored to receive the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Legislative Action Award. I want to congratulate my colleagues and fellow award recipients, Rep. Kim, Rep. Neguse, Rep. Slotkin, Sen. Cortez Masto, and Sen. Cramer. Our nation is facing a myriad of challenges, and Republicans and Democrats have to work together in order to achieve commonsense and meaningful solutions to the issues affecting the American people,” said Rep. Reschenthaler. 

“In Congress, it’s vital that we put politics aside, roll up our sleeves, and work together to get things done. As someone who comes from the national security world, where party affiliation falls by the wayside, I feel bipartisanship in my bones, and in moments of intense division like these, we need it more than ever. My philosophy as an elected representative has always been that I’ll work with anyone, Democrat or Republican, as long as they’re serious about finding solutions that will improve people’s lives. That’s the same approach the Bipartisan Policy Center believes in, and it’s an honor to have received one of their Legislative Action Awards this year,” said Rep. Slotkin.

Read Next