Ideas. Action. Results.

Moderators Confirmed for July 23 Energy Innovation Symposium With Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz and Others

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Washington, D.C. – On July 23, the Bipartisan Policy Center’s (BPC) American Energy Innovation Council (AEIC) will gather experts, business leaders, academics and policymakers to assess the state of American energy innovation and new approaches to drive more resources into it.

AEIC was founded in 2010 and is led by business leaders Norm Augustine, John Doerr, Bill Gates, Chad Holliday, Jeff Immelt and Tom Linebarger.

AEIC’s mission is to foster strong economic growth, create jobs in new industries and reestablish America’s energy technology leadership through robust public and private investment in the development of clean energy technologies.

The event is open to the public and media. To attend, register here. An agenda and complete list of speakers is available here. Join the conversation on Twitter – @TheAEIC, #BPClive.


Keynote Addresses by:

The Honorable Ernest Moniz
Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy

Tom Fanning
CEO, Southern Company

Other speakers include:

Margot Anderson
Executive Director, BPC’s Energy Project

Ricardo Angel
Managing Partner, GE Energy Ventures

Robert Armstrong
Director, MIT Energy Initiative

Neil Auerbach
CEO and Managing Partner, Hudson Clean Energy Partners

Norman Augustine
Former Chairman, Lockheed Martin Principal, AEIC

Alicia Barton
CEO, Massachusetts Clean Energy Center

Sharon Burke
Senior Advisor, New America Foundation
Former Assistant Secretary of Operational Energy Plans and Programs, U.S. Department of Defense

Steve Clemons
Washington Editor-at-Large, The Atlantic

David Danielson
Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

John Dukes
Director of Federal Markets, Constellation New Energy

Ben Geman
Energy and Environment Correspondent, National Journal

Alfred Griffin
President, New York State Green Bank

Chad Holliday
Principal, American Energy Innovation Council Chairman of the Board, Bank of America

Kevin Kampschroer
Director of Federal High-Performance Green Buildings, General Services Administration

Keith Martin
Partner, Chadbourne & Parke LLP

The Honorable Mark Mazur
Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy, U.S. Department of the Treasury

The Honorable Dennis McGinn
Assistant Secretary for Energy, Installations, and Environment, U.S. Navy

Steve Mufson
Energy Correspondent, The Washington Post

Richard Newell
Director, Duke Energy Initiative

Nancy Pfund
Managing Partner, DBL Investors

Ryan Popple
CEO, Proterra

Jim Snyder
Energy Report, Bloomberg News

John Wall
Chief Technical Officer, Cummins


Driving Resources into Energy Innovation


Wednesday, July 23, 2014
9:00AM ET – 3:00PM ET
Doors open at 8:30AM ET.

[Add to Calendar]


Renaissance Washington
Renaissance Ballroom
999 Ninth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001