Ideas. Action. Results.

Chertoff Named Co-Chair of BPC Immigration Task Force

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Washington, D.C. –┬áThe Bipartisan Policy Center announced today that former Secretary of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff was named a new co-chair of its Immigration Task Force, joining former Governors Haley Barbour and Ed Rendell and former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Henry Cisneros in that role. Chertoff has been part of the task force since its inauguration in 2013, and replaces as co-chair former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, who is stepping down due to other commitments.

“Our immigration system is broken, and it cannot be fixed without congressional action. We all want a secure border, but achieving it will required not just better enforcement, but reforms to our legal immigration system to encourage and support legal entry and a path to legal status for some unauthorized immigrants,” said Chertoff. “Our task force will continue to make the case for immigration reform because it is a necessity for our country, and we hope it will be a high priority for the new president and new Congress.”