Celebrating ten years of productive partisanship.

x - close

The Bipartisan Policy Center’s Financial Regulatory Reform Initiative Adds New Members and Unveils Key Working Groups

Monday, December 17, 2012

Washington, D.C. – The Bipartisan Policy Center’s (BPC) Financial Regulatory Reform Initiative announced its two new members today: Peter Fisher, former Under Secretary of the Treasury for Domestic Finance the head of BlackRock’s Fixed Income Portfolio Management Group and a member of BlackRock’s Global Operating Committee, and Jonathan Macey, the Sam Harris Professor of Corporate Law, Corporate Finance and Securities Law at Yale University, and Professor in the Yale School of Management.

Fisher and Macey join a bipartisan group of former regulators, policy advocates, academics and practitioners led by co-chairs Martin Baily, former chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers under President Bill Clinton, and Phillip Swagel, former Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy at the U.S. Treasury Department. Aaron Klein, former Deputy Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy Coordination at the U.S. Department of Treasury, directs the effort.

Launched in October, BPC’s Financial Regulatory Reform Initiative aims to assist Congress, the executive branch, and regulators as they work to further develop and potentially modify financial supervision and regulation.

The group is considering five aspects of financial reform: systemic risk; failure resolution; capital markets and the Volcker rule; consumer financial protection; and regulatory architecture. At the launch, Klein and the initiative co-chairs released a white paper with an overview of each of these issues.

The initiative also announced today the working groups for each of these key areas:

Systemic Risk: Peter Fisher, John Dugan, and Chuck Muckenfuss

Failure Resolution: John Bovenzi, Randall Guynn, and Thomas Jackson

Capital Markets and the Volcker Rule: Jonathan Macey, Annette Nazareth, John Coffee, and Jim Cox

Consumer Financial Protection: Eric Rodriguez and Rick Fischer

Regulatory Architecture: Richard Neiman and Mark Olson

As at-large members for the initiative, Rodgin Cohen and Bob Steel will identify policy issues of interest for the group to consider.

For more information about the initiative and the working areas, click here.

Ashley Berrang

(202) 637-1456


2012-12-17 00:00:00