Ideas. Action. Results.

The Voting Experience: Two Years of Progress on Election Administration


WHEN: Friday, January 22, 2016 9:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. ET

WHERE: Bipartisan Policy Center, 1225 Eye St. NW, Suite 1000, Washington, DC, 20005

Add to Calendar

The Bipartisan Policy Center and the former commissioners of the Presidential Commission on Election Administration (PCEA) hosted a discussion about progress made toward implementation of the PCEA’s recommendations over the past two years and a look forward at work to be done in 2016 and beyond. The program included two panels that examined the key PCEA recommendations: Election Day lines, early and absentee voting including UOCAVA voters, voting technology, and voter registration and data sharing.

Read the Report
Election Day Command Centers: An Invaluable Tool in Election Administration

View the presentation slides

Remarks by:

  • W. Neil Eggleston, White House Counsel
  • Bob Bauer, Co-Chair of the Presidential Commission on Election Administration
  • Ben Ginsberg, Co-Chair of the Presidential Commission on Election Administration

Panel I: Voting Technology, Voting by Mail, and Military Voting

  • Matt Boehmer, Director, Federal Voting Assistance Program
  • Dean Logan, Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, LA County
  • Matthew Masterson, Commissioner, U.S. Election Assistance Commission
  • Kathy Rogers, Senior Vice President of Government Relations, ES&S
  • Ronald A. Stroman, Deputy Postmaster General
  • Natalie Tennant, West Virginia Secretary of State

Panel II: Voter Registration and Data Sharing

  • Keith Ingram, Director of Elections, Texas
  • Frank LaRose, Ohio State Senator
  • Tom Schedler, Louisiana Secretary of State
  • David Stafford, Escambia County (FL) Supervisor of Elections

Panel III: Early Voting and Election Administration at the Polls

  • Edgardo Cortes, Commissioner, Virginia Department of Elections
  • Shelley McThomas, Director, Kansas City Board of Election Commissioners
  • Charles Stewart, MIT
  • Michelle Tassinari, Director of Elections, Massachusetts