Skip to main content

2019 Legislative Action Award

Bipartisan Policy Center
1225 Eye St NW, Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005
This event has passed.

The Bipartisan Policy Center was pleased to present the third annual Legislative Action Award on March 13, 2019. BPC established the Legislative Action Award to acknowledge creative and courageous members who are breathing life into the legislative process. The award is given to new members who demonstrate the skill, grace, and tenacity to get things done for their constituents and the nation.

The Legislative Action Award is focused on members who have:

The Award Selection Committee is comprised of senior BPC leadership, board members, the co-chairs of BPC’s Commission on Political Reform, and representatives from businesses and non-profits.

The 2019 recipients are Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Rep. Doug Collins (R-GA), Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), Rep. John Katko (R-NY), and Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA).

“Americans expect Republicans and Democrats to work together and address the real challenges we face as a country. Getting things done requires a desire to work together across party lines on solutions. It means moving past what divides us and finding common ground. I am honored to have my work recognized by the Bipartisan Policy Center with this award, and I remain committed to solving problems in a way that produces results for the American people.”

Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

“Our ability to make significant progress on issues like opioids and broadband are proof that bipartisanship is still possible in these too-often polarized times. I pride myself on working with those across the aisle and know the benefits of having an open mind and a willingness to find common ground. I’m honored to be one of the recipients of this award and thank the Bipartisan Policy Center for all they do to encourage bipartisan policy and conversation.”

Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)

“It was an honor to work with Rep. Hakeem Jeffries to pass the First Step Act. The bipartisan support surrounding this bill reflects a shared dedication to restoring lives and strengthening communities in every corner of the United States.”

Rep. Doug Collins (R-GA)

Bipartisanship is the engine that drives the legislative progress that has made America the greatest nation in the world. When the people of Brooklyn and Queens gave me the distinct honor of representing them in Washington, I made the commitment to work across the aisle to improve the lives of families in my district and throughout our nation and that’s what we’ve done with the First Step Act. Representative Collins and all involved should be commended for their commitment to working together in this regard.”

Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY)

“I am honored to receive the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Legislative Action Award for bipartisanship and productivity in Congress. I pride myself in my ability to work with any of my Republican or Democrat colleagues to address common issues facing our constituencies. As the 116th Congress progresses, I will continue to reach across the aisle to create positive solutions to address the issues facing our country, including addressing the ongoing opioid crisis and fixing our aging infrastructure.”

Rep. John Katko (R-NY)

“The folks I represent want to get the economy on track and they want Congress to get on track too. In recent years, there’s been far too much partisan bickering and far too little Congress. That’s why I’ve been so committed to finding common ground. Congress is at its best when people listen and learn from one another to find the policies that will move our country forward. It’s an honor to receive this award, and I thank the Bipartisan Policy Center for encouraging members of Congress to work together for the common good.”

Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)

More Upcoming Events

Red background with zig-zag pattern