Ideas. Action. Results.


Author: Olympia Snowe

Olympia Snowe

Board Member and Senior Fellow; Former Senator from Maine

Olympia Snowe is a member of BPC’s board of directors, a BPC senior fellow, and a co-chair of BPC’s Commission on Political Reform. She was the first woman in U.S. history to serve in both houses of a state legislature and both houses of Congress.

Read More

Author: Mike Beebe

Mike Beebe

Governors' Council Member; Former Governor of Arkansas

Mike Beebe is a member of BPC’s Governors’ Council. He served as governor of Arkansas from 2007 to 2015. Beebe’s education policies and initiatives garnered nationwide attention, and during his tenure, Arkansas ranked fifth in overall K-12 education.

Read More

Author: Trent Lott

Trent Lott

Senior Fellow; Former Senate Majority Leader

Trent Lott is a BPC senior fellow and co-chairs its Commission on Political Reform and Energy Project. He represented the state of Mississippi in the Senate from 1989 to 2007, serving as majority leader from 1996 to 2001.

Read More

Author: Chris Gregoire

Chris Gregoire

Governors' Council Member; Former Governor of Washington

Chris Gregoire is a member of BPC’s Governors’ Council. She served as the governor of Washington from 2005 to 2013. During her two terms as governor, Gregoire proposed significant reforms to the state’s education system which went on to receive national recognition.

Read More

Author: Steven Beshear

Steven Beshear

Governors' Council Member; Former Governor of Kentucky

Steven Beshear is a member of BPC’s Governors’ Council. He served as governor of Kentucky from 2007-2015.

Read More

Author: Dan Blair

Dan Blair

Senior Counselor

Dan G. Blair is a BPC senior counselor. He is an internationally-recognized expert and leader in public policy and administration, with more than 30-years of experience in top leadership positions in the nonprofit, governmental—including executive and legislative branches—and regulatory sectors.

Read More

Author: Tom Daschle

Tom Daschle

Co-Founder; Former Senate Majority Leader

Tom Daschle, a BPC co-founder, co-chairs its Commission on Political Reform and Health Project. He served as Senate minority leader from 1995 to 2001 and from 2003 to 2005, and as the majority leader from 2001 to 2003.

Read More

Author: Rick Dearborn

Rick Dearborn

Senior Fellow

Rick Dearborn is a senior fellow for BPC's Campus Free Expression Project. For the past thirty years Dearborn has served two U.S. Presidents, six U.S. Senators, a premier think tank and a major trade association on Capitol Hill.

Read More

Author: Jim Douglas

Jim Douglas

Governors' Council Member; Former Governor of Vermont

Jim Douglas is a member of BPC’s Governors’ Council and Commission on Retirement Security and Personal Savings. He served as governor of Vermont from 2003 to 2011.

Read More

Author: Dan Glickman

Dan Glickman

Senior Fellow; Former Secretary of Agriculture

Dan Glickman is a BPC senior fellow and co-chairs its Commission on Political Reform, Democracy Project, Prevention Initiative, and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Task Force. He served as the secretary of agriculture from March 1995 until January 2001.

Read More

Author: David Heineman

David Heineman

Governors' Council Member; Former Governor of Nebraska

David Heineman is a member of BPC's Governors' Council. He is the longest serving governor in Nebraska history, serving from 2005-2015. He is a former chair of the National Governors Association.

Read More

Author: Dirk Kempthorne

Dirk Kempthorne

Co-Chair, Commission on Political Reform; Former Governor of Idaho and Secretary of the Interior

Dirk Kempthorne co-chairs BPC’s Commission on Political Reform. He served as a senator from Idaho from 1993 to 1998 and as the governor of Idaho from 1999 to 2006. He also served as the secretary of the interior from 2006 to 2009.

Read More

Author: Beverly G. Hudnut

Beverly G. Hudnut


Beverly G. Hudnut is a BPC fellow with the Democracy Project. Hudnut works on several initiatives—including the Commission on Political Reform and the Presidential Commission on Election Administration—to facilitate outreach and collaboration with peer organizations.

Read More

Author: Donald Palmer

Donald Palmer


Donald Palmer is a BPC fellow focusing on the recommendations of the Presidential Commission on Election Administration. He was appointed secretary of the Virginia Board of Elections by former Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell in 2011 and served as the commonwealth’s chief election official until July 2014.

Read More

Author: Christopher Thomas

Christopher Thomas


Christopher Thomas is a fellow with BPC’s Democracy Project. Thomas is retired from the Michigan Department of State on June 30, 2017 after 40 years of election administration service, which included 36 years as Michigan’s Director of Elections.

Read More

Author: Donald R. Wolfensberger

Donald R. Wolfensberger


Donald R. Wolfensberger is a BPC fellow, and congressional scholar at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. He served as a staff member in the U.S. House of Representatives for 28 years, beginning as legislative director for his home district Representative John B. Anderson.

Read More

Author: John C. Fortier

John C. Fortier

Director of Governmental Studies

John C. Fortier is Director of Governmental Studies. Prior to joining BPC, he was a research fellow at the American Enterprise Institute, where he served as the principal contributor to the AEI-Brookings Election Reform Project and the executive director of the Continuity of Government Commission.

Read More

Author: Michele Nellenbach

Michele Nellenbach

Director of Strategic Initiatives

Michele Nellenbach is director of BPC’s strategic initiatives. Prior to joining BPC, Nellenbach was the director of the National Governors Association’s (NGA) Natural Resources Committee where she directed and oversaw NGA’s federal legislative agenda.

Read More

Author: John Richter

John Richter

Director of the Congress Project

John Richter is a BPC senior advisor. He worked for former Senator Olympia Snowe, serving in numerous capacities in her office, including as speechwriter, deputy legislative director, and most recently as chief of staff.

Read More

Author: Matthew Weil

Matthew Weil

Director of the Elections Project

Matthew Weil is director of BPC’s Elections Project. Prior to joining BPC in February 2013, he worked at the Department of the Treasury on domestic finance issues in the office of public affairs.

Read More

Author: Tim Harper

Tim Harper

Policy Analyst

Tim Harper is a policy analyst for BPC’s Democracy Project. Prior to joining BPC in November 2015, Harper worked for the International Foundation for Electoral Systems on projects in Iraq and Libya.

Read More

Author: Michael Thorning

Michael Thorning

Associate Director

Michael Thorning is an associate director for BPC’s Congress Project. Prior to joining BPC, Thorning worked on Capitol Hill for Senators Jeff Bingaman and Tom Udall.

Read More


Franz Wuerfmannsdobler

Senior Advisor

Franz Wuerfmannsdobler is a BPC senior advisor.  He has more than two decades of congressional experience. During his tenure on Capitol Hill, he worked in the offices of U.S. Senators Robert Byrd (WV), Byron Dorgan (ND), and Chris Coons (DE).

Read More