Initiative Members


Former Senator Byron Dorgan (D-ND)

Former Senator Trent Lott (R-MS)

Energy Security Chair:

General James L. Jones (USMC-Ret), former U.S. National Security Advisor; President and CEO, Jones Group International

Energy and Environment Chair:

William K. Reilly, former U.S. EPA Administrator


  • Ralph Cavanagh, Energy Program Director, Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
  • Clarence Cazalot, Chairman, President and CEO, Marathon Oil Corporation
  • William M. Colton, Vice President, Corporate Strategic Planning, Exxon Mobil Corporation
  • David Cote, Chairman and CEO, Honeywell International, Inc
  • Mark Gerencser, Executive Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • James T. Hackett, Executive Chairman and Former CEO, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation
  • Edwin D. Hill, International President, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW)
  • William A. Von Hoene, Jr., Executive Vice President, Finance and Legal, Exelon Corporation
  • Colette Honorable, Chairman, Arkansas Public Service Commission
  • Thomas O. Hunter, Former President and Lab Director, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Ellen J. Kullman, Chair of the Board & CEO, DuPont
  • VADM Dennis V. McGinn, President, American Council on Renewable Energy (ACORE)
  • Matt Rose, Chairman and CEO, BNSF Railway Company
  • Richard Schmalensee, Ph.D., Economist, Professor of Applied Economics & Dean Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • Susan Story, President and CEO, Southern Company Services, Inc.
  • Susan Tierney, Ph.D., Managing Principal, Analysis Group; Former Assistant Secretary for Policy, U.S. Department of Energy